Ghost Refugees

I wrote a couple of poems last year about a forum for unhappy people that I used to frequent. These days, I’m not so much a regular there, as an occasional lurker.  But I still think of myself as one of those unhappy people, so this is as much about me as it is all the other tortured souls I encountered there.  Anyway, I recently brought the two poems together into a song, that I’ve entitled……

 

GHOST REFUGEES

They come, they go. … They disappear into little black holes
They rant, they rave. … Not all though can be saved
They laugh, they joke. … To forget what makes them choke
They cry, they scream. … For madness that has no meaning

Refugees from a broken world, careening down the lost highway
Searching for a kindred spirit, running from the dark of day
Society is apathetic, still my smile is copacetic
All the world’s a stage, you see – no one shall know the scars in me

They come, they go. … They disappear into little black holes
They rant, they rave. … Not all though will be saved
They see, they perceive. … With a depth beyond their years
They feel, they hurt … Too deeply to put into words

Exiles from a hostile planet, adrift in blackened misery
Searching for release beyond the veil of death’s sweet victory
Life’s a tale as told by fools, based on lies and made-up rules
Sound and fury, signifying Nothing … NOTHING!

Leave a Reply

