There is No Place in the World for Me

There is no place in the world for me
I see no path to ever be
anything more than an empty shell,
a standing joke for the ages to tell

I’ll never be a father, a lover, a hero,
a rich man, athlete, brave world explorer
I’ll never jet off to exotic destinations,
stroll a moonlit beach in romantic anticipation

The fantasies, hopes, and plans of a distant child
lie ravaged and broken in the realities of time
Life’s laid waste to the delusions of a fool,
left no excuse to exist beyond the chains of nature’s rules

There is no place in the world for me
I see no reason to continue to be
I long for the courage of one simple act…
as Kiera sweetly sings: “the step you can’t take back”.

A Step You Can’t Take Back

Leave a Reply

