Fading

Lightning flashes,
thunder rolls
Rain clatters on the tin porch roof

My hope, my faith
pour down the gutter into the earth
Nature cries my tears for me

I want so badly to die
I can taste the blackness
In futile desperation I reach for

the kill-switch on the sun
Lights out and all is done
The movie’s over, the reaper’s won

Life is a scam of struggle and pain
A Hollywood ending
never stood a chance

The game is rigged, only the favored lives
cross the finish-line
to take the prize

The rational response on any normal day
would be to cut my losses
and quietly walk away.

Leave a Reply

