Paralyzed

In the silence of the morning,
while the sun is still in hiding,
I lie in sleepless torpor
and reflect on my tomorrows

I grew up always dreaming
full of life and full of schemes
Somewhere along the journey
they dried up, withered, and died.

I lie here in the darkness,
feeling empty, numb, and heartless
The little voice echoes in my head –
I’ve squandered all my chances

As my journey nears its twilight,
I’m stopped by the side of the road
Afraid to drive forward or even turn back,
paralyzed by the unknown

Far off in the distance
(or in the corners of my mind)
The cosmic clock is a pounding thunder
as my seconds tick, tick, tick away

Leave a Reply

