So It Goes

Your vision haunts my tortured mind,
a dizzying hall of mirrors inside
I close my eyes and turn away
As I glance back, you fade to gray

Your mocking voice echoes in the dark,
searing words that wound and scar
I close my eyes and drift away
My dream of love was all in vain

So it goes when illusion reigns
Chasing ghosts and stranger things
Time reveals the web of lies,
shattered hearts and lovers’ sighs

What profits a man to lose his soul
on wasted nights and fire grown cold?
Rather walk alone thru pouring rain
with virgin heart that’s known no pain.

Leave a Reply

